Meet your online customer

Getting customers engaged in their company is something most businesses are striving for in this social media era. We all want to put information out there that people will “like”and then it will increase sales. If only it were that easy. In order to effectively run social media, or any online marketing really, it’s important to get into the minds of your customers. I’ve managed a few social media accounts now and in the past. One of the biggest things I have to constantly remind myself is that our followers are not like me. When I first starting running SM accounts, my friends that liked or followed the company always told me things like “Oh did you write that post today? I could totally tell it was you.” While I haven’t completely put myself aside yet, I have tried to become more aware that beside a few commonalities with fans, we generally do not have the same interests, likes etc. When you start to figure out who your customers are, it completely changes your voice when acting as the company.

The big question is, how can you determine what exactly your customers DO like. Well, it mostly comes down to analytics. I have yet to venture into tracking consumers online behavior like this Acer example, but I have utilized the vast amount of analytics that Facebook provides on it’s platform. Looking at the information, the SM accounts I run currently have (admittedly) decreased in engagement the past few weeks after the initial rush of the Fall semester starting. For some reason though when I posted that the movie Brave was playing in the auditorium, it saw much higher results. Wouldn’t have predicted that. So my question is why? And how do I use this to gain deeper information about our fans? Was it the type of day that I posted it or that our fans just like animated movies?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Meet your online customer

  1. I think it relates to the idea that SM is the new word-of-mouth on steroids, and this got enough attention from connected people. That, and I think this is a group of college students who grew up anticipating the next big animated Disney movies and got caught up in the rise of Disney mega-marketing those movies, so they are indeed nostalgic animation fans. That may make an interesting hook for your next campaign, and one way you can connect with them in an ongoing basis. I’m not sure analytics will be the best route to explain the blip as a trend, but gives you something to think about if you want to grab their attention. (By the way, I would have been right there with them seeing Brave.)

    • Emily Davis says:

      Yes, good point about Disney being a mega-marketing machine. I’m sure that helped. I’m right there with you on being a Disney fan, it just gave me a bit of a laugh since it is unexpected for that age group 🙂

  2. Over in housing, we keep track of the virality of a post. One of the biggest surprises is that the average virality for all facebook posts is 1.9% (http://bit.ly/xwyOyT). In our last 50 posts, 11 of them went above that number, with the highest being 13%, a picture of a “pie chart” which was on the “amount of pie eaten” and “amount of pie left to eat.”

  3. Amanda says:

    “Was it the type of day that I posted it or that our fans just like animated movies?”

    The most effective way to answer this question will be to experiment with your posting. Monitor the effectiveness of posts at different times of day and on different days of the week, of different post types (photos, links, status updates, etc.), and of posts about different topics. Look for trends and relationships, and use those to develop more targeted social media strategies.

    There are services like Crowdbooster that specifically focus on Twitter, and they can tell you, based on the success of your various Tweets, when you should schedule your Tweets for the best possible reach, visibility, response, etc.

    It’s all about experimenting and closely monitoring the results.

  4. alanyskpl says:

    I think it might be due to the topic that was posted? It seems movie postings gain quite a bit of attention. Or due to the time of day it was posted. Google Analytics is definitely a good way to see the traffic flow onto a website and how well your SM accounts are doing, but I think there is more to be developed on how well a status holds up or how quickly a video goes viral.

  5. What are the type of SM accounts that you run and what are the demographics? Reason being is if they’re the one’s that the movie is marketing to in the first place then that’s probably why there was such a huge response. Age and demographics also effect who is on facebook and commenting on things at what times. Recently, Facebook is being labeled as the “afterwork” SM outlet because people are spending time on it. Twitter on the other hand is more on the go, during the day… you can quickly read short tweets and get caught up at your convenience. You are right though, analytics matter and there is a true trick to the social media trade.

Leave a Reply

