Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

Despite working in marketing for a few years now, there is one very important thing that I know shockingly little about: Search Engine Optimization. Yeah, I reap the benefits of it everyday. I can’t remember the last time I went to a website without Googling it first. I just have somehow skated past it in my professional life. I’ve done the occasional meta tag here and there, but that doesn’t really count does it? It’s almost intimidating for me at this point.  So tonight when I sat down to the reading, it was a little bit daunting at first. I thought, oh no, I’m finally gonna have to learn SEO. Turns out, I was pleasantly surprised however by how ‘beginner friendly’ some of it was.

I started out by looking at the glossary of terms, I figured that would be the best bet to ease myself into it. Some of the things, I am happy to report I already knew- social media, viral marketing etc. And the ones I didn’t know? Easily laid out and explained for me. Phew, not so bad. I actually was really interested in some of the concepts like conversion funnel and attention profile. What really caught my eye though was the information multivariate testing. I love the idea of having an A and B site, and determining which is more effective. I’m a daughter of a psychologist, so I’m usually pretty intrigued by human behavior. This is no different, it’s just on the web. Frankly, I would be fascinated to discover the results of that on one of my own sites.

So, somewhere between reading that and Google’s Webmaster Guidelines, it kind of hit me that SEO might not be this big scary monster after all. It’s not just about getting your page up on Google. It helps design by seeing where your users are drawn to and what pages they click on. It gets you in their mind a bit.

Sure, everyone has probably been saying all this for years now, but no one ever said I was quick 🙂 And, I am happy to report, I am no longer afraid of SEO!

… All that being said, my questions tonight are fairly simple. What are your experiences with SEO? Who has used some of these tactics and what were the results?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

  1. alanyskpl says:

    I am completely in the same boat as you. I had very little knowledge of search engine optimization. But with the glossary of terms, I understood the inner workings a lot better and I too realized I knew a bunch of the terms already. Though I didn’t know the actual terms for them, I knew the concepts behind the terms. Google’s guidelines also made me think of ways I can make my future websites better and higher in search ranks. Using certain certains and hyperlinks, I believe a site can do better in search results without having to fake and cloak the quality of a website. I haven’t used many of these tactics for my website yet, however, I am going to go back and fine-tooth comb my coding and website information.

  2. It seems like none of us we’re really good with SEO, which either means we all suck, or understood our weaknesses and took the masters course. So…go us.

    I really appreciated the reading this week, as I just had a client ask me a ton of questions about SEO. I was probably the most competent I’ve ever been in answering those questions, using terms from the glossary and everything. It was really convenient timing. I’m looking forward to the lecture to clear up some other issues, but otherwise, I’m ready to do this.

  3. naseemspeaks says:

    Emily–I feel the same about SEO. It’s new territory. We hear all about; the term comes up a lot in the professional world or in the web design field. Unfortunately, I too knew very little about it prior to class readings and had no idea that there was way more to it, such as A/B and MVT testing. It’s fascinating and if it can be done for free through Google, it’s a pretty neat tool to test out on a website. That said, I don’t think it’d be too useful on my upcoming online portfolio! I will just have to wait for my first (fingers crossed) freelance design project!

  4. Hi Emily! I’ve been in somewhat of the same boat as the rest of the crew with SEO. I’ve known a little bit about it terms of public relations and gettings organic coverage in articles on the web from my job experience but that’s about it.

    To give you a little insight with that, when a writer makes reference to your brand or company in an article on the web they often link your website to it at the end of the article. If you have a brand that has gotten some news coverage it’s smart to create a “press” section to your website to collect and showcase all of that coverage of your brand, as it creates links to your site from other sites – creating the opportunity for more clicks! All of which ups your SEO.

Leave a Reply

