Learning the history

Throughout this program, I’ve often debated to myself the benefits of learning potentially outdated tactics. These tactics being XHTML and CSS2. I have to admit, sometimes I’ve thought to myself why I am learning this when there are newer, better ways to do it now? Why are we spending time on tables when you could just make a div? Well, i’m happy to report the positive answers have outweighed those negative questions. That’s because the answer is always that the past information gives me a more holistic view of good web design. In the long run, I feel I have an advantage over those just learning the new strategies.  Don’t get me wrong, the new stuff is important, but this is the same reason it’s important to go to history class in grade school. You learn from your mistakes. You have a better appreciation for the future when you know what the past was like.

These life lessons transcend to web design. At the end of the day, I’d rather be the candidate in a job interview that has a wide range of knowledge than the one that just knows a few HTML5 tricks.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

