Working with the fold

I have to put it out there, I’m a fan of going below the fold in a web design. I think the percentage of people who scroll to the bottom of the page is higher than most realize. I’m not saying put up a small novel, no one will read that. Instead, throw in some small info graphics, organize the information well enough, and you are in business below the fold.

That being said, I know a lot of people (read: clients) feel differently. In this instance, I say opt for smaller navigation. As I mentioned in my last post, a lot can be said for a subtle effect when a link is hovered over. That combined with a standard page placement (at the top, horizontally)  and I think most people will get the concept. It will allow more space for crucial information and still maintains a nice, clean design.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

