Text Editing

I’ll admit, I haven’t done too much coding in my day, but I have always been a big fan of text editors. Call it strange, but that’s the way it is. Generally I’m using notepad (not the ++ version) on my work PC. I use it quite frequently for inputting text into illustrator, indesign or our content management based website. Notepad obviously doesn’t have all the bells and whistles of others, but it gets the job done.

At home, I use Text Edit often. Not because I need to, but I just prefer using the text editor over Microsoft Word. It comes in handy for these blog posts in fact. 

Getting into more coding, I can see why Vonne recommends Text Wrangler. The color coding is a useful feature. I also like that you can adjust the settings to your need- fonts, line numbers etc. Anything that can be personalized, I’m usually okay with. Based on what i’ve seen in class though, it seems like Notepad ++ is the way to go. I would NEVER give up my Mac for it, but this may be the one instance where PC has a (slight) benefit over the Mac world. Sigh. That’s the last time you’ll hear me admit that. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

