Thinking Typography

I have sat down to write this blog post so many times, and I just can’t do it. It is so hard to decide on a typeface! Most of the work I’ve done up to this point has been for print and it was something that would only be displayed for a week or so at a time. I’ve never had to make such a crucial type decision. I feel like this is my only chance!

…Okay, so maybe I’m being a ridiculous. A website is a living thing after all, something can always be changed.

Since I know that I will probably be limited to Arial/Helvetica for the body copy, I wanted to do a few images of a different typeface. I toyed around with the idea of doing a script font like this one. As I’ve mentioned a few times, this portfolio site is the one time I’ll have the opportunity to create something just to my liking. I like that a script font allows me to be a bit more playful, but perhaps I should be a bit more professional? I am trying to get people to hire me here. I’ve always wanted an excuse to purchase the rather expensive, but beautiful Archer. This is would provide a slightly more professional option, while still fitting with my “fun” theme. Plus, the serif would be a nice contrast to the sans-serif options I’ll undoubtedly have as my body copy. For this, the question just comes down to, is it worth spending the money for a few images on my site? Sigh.

*fingers crossed for a big tax return*

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

