Wireframing. Minus the wires… and the frames.

When I first learned about the concept of wire framing, I thought “Oh that doesn’t sound too bad!” Well, that changed a little bit when I actually sat down to do it myself. I have worked on sites before, but there was always a layout already in place. I quickly learned tonight that coming up with the entire concept was a bit more difficult. Being able to do whatever I wanted on the other hand? Exhilarating.

Here is the wireframe for emilyjanedavis.com. Yes, I have been holding on to that domain name for a while. It’s tough out there with a name this plain.

Wireframe

From the get-go, I knew I would want to create something simple. Blame it on being a neat freak my entire life, but I hate websites (or any design for that matter) that are cluttered. I looked at several sites for inspiration. I found myself drawn to ones with bright colors, oversized typography, ribbons, icons and an overall whimsical factor to them. So I decided that is what I’m set out to do: create some whimsy. If I can’t do it on my own site, then where can i do it, right? My goal is to incorporate bright colors, fun illustrations and good typography. Actually doing that may not be as easy as it looks, but I am willing to try.

Wish me luck!

E

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

